Home

“See the world through the eyes of others”

From 25th May until 3rd June 2016, kulturkind is holding the first “Into the Wind! Nordic Children’s and Young People´s Literature Days” in Berlin. Over ten days, outstanding writers and illustrators from Åland, Denmark, The Faroe Islands, Finland, Greenland, Iceland, Norway, Sweden and the indigenious Sámi will be our guests, presenting themselves and their work to the public. A varied events program opens up a new perspective on the Nordic countries’ cultural diversity, visible in literature and illustration.

 

“I can’t say that I write to convey some specific message or knowledge. But I do believe in literature’s ability to elicit empathy. Writing and reading both allow and compel us to see the world through the eyes of others. And this is an imperative ability, not the least in this day and age when so many people come to us in desperate need of shelter from war and persecution”.
Jakob Wegelius, Swedish author and illustrator
Laureate of the Nordic Council Children and Young People´s Literature Prize 2015

 

The artists talk about themselves and their work in panel discussions, give insights into their literary production at readings, and show how they make their art in workshops.To accompany the festival, kulturkind is organizing an exhibition in conjunction with The Nordic House Iceland, all about Nordic children’s book illustration. Sixteen illustrators from seven countries will show their work on the subject of “Into the Wind!”

The title “Into the Wind!” describes the richly contrasting nature of the Nordic countries, influencing the local people – but also the literature of this region of northern Europe with its so multifaceted and expressive culture. At the same time, “Into the Wind!” stands for the richness of the region’s children’s and young adult literature and conjures up a free and confident childhood.

Startseite

„Die Welt mit den Augen anderer sehen“

Vom 25. Mai bis 3. Juni 2016 veranstaltet der Verein kulturkind die ersten „Into the Wind! Nordische Kinder- und Jugendliteraturtage“ in Berlin. Zehn Tage lang werden herausragende AutorInnen und IllustratorInnen aus Åland, Dänemark, den Färöer-Inseln, Finnland, Grönland, Island, Norwegen, Schweden und den Sámi Nordeuropas zu Gast sein, um sich und ihr Werk der Öffentlichkeit zu präsentieren. Ein vielseitiges Veranstaltungsprogramm eröffnet einen neuen Blick auf die in Literatur und Illustration erfahrbare kulturelle Vielfalt der nordischen Länder.

 

„Ich kann nicht sagen, dass ich schreibe, um eine bestimmte Botschaft oder Wissen zu vermitteln. Aber ich glaube daran, dass Literatur Empathie hervorruft. Sowohl das Schreiben als auch das Lesen ermöglichen und erfordern, die Welt mit den Augen anderer zu sehen. Und das ist eine unbedingte Fähigkeit, nicht zuletzt in diesen Tagen und in dieser Zeit, in der so viele Menschen zu uns kommen und Schutz vor Krieg und Verfolgung suchen.“ 
Jakob Wegelius, schwedischer Autor und Illustrator
Preisträger des Kinder-und Jugendliteraturpreises des Nordischen Rates 2015

 

In Podiumsdiskussionen sprechen die KünstlerInnen über sich und über ihre Arbeit, geben in Lesungen Einblick in ihr literarischen Schaffen und vermitteln in Workshops ihre künstlerische Arbeitsweise.

Begleitend zum Festival organisiert kulturkind in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Nordischen Haus Island eine große Ausstellung über nordische Kinderbuchillustration: Sechzehn IllustratorInnen aus sieben Ländern zeigen ihre Arbeiten zum Thema „Into the Wind!“.

Der Titel „Into the Wind!“ beschreibt die kontrastreiche Natur der Nordischen Länder, die ihre Einwohner prägt – aber auch die Literatur dieser kulturell so facettenreichen und ausdrucksstarken Region Nordeuropas. Gleichzeitig steht „Into the Wind!“ für die Vielfalt auch in der Kinder- und Jugendliteratur und erinnert an eine freie und selbstbewusste Kindheit.